With “The Great Gatsby” still doing decent business, director Baz Luhrmann revealed he turned down a huge movie. According to Digital Spy, Lurhmann was offered the director’s chair for “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”, the first film in the hugely successful Harry Potter series.

“The first one came along and they rang me, and while I love the pictures and the books now, then I thought, ‘What’s that?’ And said, ‘Well that sounds interesting, but I’m thinking of doing a reinvention of the modern musical’, and that was Moulin Rouge….So I’m an obvious idiot, because I should have taken Harry Potter,” Luhrmann said.

Lots of people love “Moulin Rouge”, but I can’t help but wonder what a Lurhmann directed Potter film would have been like. Many agree that the first two installments, directed by Christopher Columbus are the worst in the series.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at eggen.lukas@gmail.com.

