Next week, one of the biggest movies of the summer (“Iron Man 3”) kicks off the summer movie season. May sees the releases of “Iron Man 3”, “The Great Gatsby”, “Star Trek Into Darkness”, “Epic”, “Fast and Furious 6”, “The Hangover Part III” and “After Earth”. Several smaller, but highly anticipated films like “After Shock”, “Before Midnight” and “The Iceman” are all hitting theaters in May as well. Which film are you looking forward to the most?

For me, it’s a tough call. I am absolutely, positively insanely excited to see “Before Midnight” starring Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy from director Richard Linklater. If you haven’t seen “Before Sunrise” and “Before Sunset”, do yourself a favor and check them out ASAP. They are wonderful films and I’m hoping the third film can live up to the first two. That being said, it’s hard not to get excited for the big movies. “The Great Gatsby” from Baz Luhrmann is the biggest question mark of the month for me. He has an eye for style and loves to use some surprising music in his films. But “Australia” was overly long and boring and frankly this close to release and all anyone is talking about is the soundtrack. What about, you know, the cast? Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire and Carey Mulligan will get me to check this film out, but I get the feeling this is going to be style over substance.

The two films I’m not excited for are “The Hangover Part III” and “After Earth”. For “The Hangover”, the good news is it won’t be the worst in the trilogy, but that’s only because the second film was so terrible. Todd Phillips really didn’t hit it with another road trip comedy, “Due Date” and this one will likely have a few funny moments, but fall flat a a whole. And “After Earth”. All I have to say is this: M. Night Shyamalan. The trailer had the unintended effect of making me laugh. I don’t have high hopes for that film at all.

I am excited for “Iron Man 3”. I think the change in director will do the series some good and Robert Downey Jr. should shine. But part of me does wonder if I’ll get Marvel fatigue pretty soon. “Star Trek Into Darkness” looks amazing. But let’s not forget with expectations sky rocketing, the first film was light on action and if you look at J.J. Abrams’ history, action is not his strongest suit. “Fast and Furious 6”, well there’s nothing wrong with a good action film. “Epic” looks like Fern Gully, but hey, I’m intrigued. “Before Midnight” tops my list of most anticipated film of May with ‘Iron Man 3″, FF6 and “Star Trek” close behind.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at eggen.lukas@gmail.com.

