Airing on May 16, TV’s “The Office” will be ending its run. Based on the UK TV show starring Ricky Gervais, the US version helped launch Steve Carell’s career as he played Michael Scott. Here’s the list of guest stars for the series finale: Mindy Kaling, B.J. Novak, Rachael Harris, Dakota Johnson, Joan Cusack, Ed Begley Jr., Malcolm Barrett, Matt Jones, Andy Buckley, Mike Schur and Bobby Ray Shafer. Carell’s name isn’t on the list. We’d say that NBC is trying to keep this a surprise, but you’d think they would tease a special guest appearance or something, right? But it seems hard to imagine that Carell wouldn’t be involved.

“The Office” stars Rainn Wilson, John Krasinski, Jenna Fischer, Ed Helms, Catherine Tate, Leslie David Baker, Brian Baumgartner, Kate Flannery, Angela Kinsey, Oscar Nuñez, Phyllis Smith, Paul Lieberstein, Creed Bratton, Craig Robinson, Ellie Kemper, Clark Duke and Jake Lacy.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at