Ok now we’re in crunch time for the Oscars. Today, I’m looking at the Best Supporting Actor race. Out of any category, this one appears to be the most wide open. The nominees are: Tommy Lee Jones for “Lincoln”, Robert De Niro for “Silver Linings Playbook”, Alan Arkin for “Argo”, Philip Seymour Hoffman for “The Master” and Christoph Waltz for “Django Unchained”. Every single one of these nominees have won an Oscar before, so there’s no chance of someone getting a “we owe you” Oscar this year. It’s safe to put Hoffman on the not going to win list. “The Master” just lacked the buzz this year after it’s release. Waltz won the Golden Globe, though personally, I hope he doesn’t win. I still think Leonardo DiCaprio was the more deserving actor from that film to be in this category. But he has to be considered one of the front runners. My dark horse is Arkin. The big question is with “Argo” gaining all this momentum because of Ben Affleck getting snubbed, will that carry into other categories, or just Best Picture? Arkin, of course, could sneak past the other nominees if the Academy gives in to the film’s momentum.

De Niro gives an absolutely great performance in “Silver Linings Playbook”. I just get the feeling that film is going to get largely overlooked, aside from perhaps Jennifer Lawrence. My pick is Jones in “Lincoln”. Let me put it to you this way: Daniel Day-Lewis is considered a lock for Best Actor. And for me Jones was much more memorable. End of story.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at eggen.lukas@gmail.com.

