So over the next couple weeks I’ll be predicting some of the bigger categories at this year’s Oscars. From Best Picture to Best Actress, I’ll be taking a stab at this. First up is Best Animated Feature.

This is a very close race this year with the five nominees: “Brave”, “Frankenweenie”, “ParaNorman”, “The Pirates! Band of Misfits” and “Wreck-It Ralph”. Frankly, the only ones I don’t see as serious contenders are Pirates and “ParaNorman”. Pirates

You could make a case for the other three, however. “Brave” won the Golden Globe. And it was close to a return to form for Disney/Pixar after the “Cars 2” debacle. “Wreck-It Ralph” won the Producers Guild of America and the Annies award though, giving that some serious momentum. But don’t count out “Frankenweenie”. It may have underperformed at the box office, but the Oscars love stop-motion (just look at this list of nominees) and they could view this as a way to recognize Tim Burton.

That being said, the Oscars love for stop motion could mean “ParaNorman” could be in for the upset. It’s an outside shot, but the film received great review and did well at the box office. Still, with no major wins, it’s tough to see that winning. And Pirates…I would have much rather seen the stronger “Rise of the Guardians” get into this category.

As for my pick: This is a category I could be very wrong in, but I’m going with “Brave”. Here’s why: Out of the serious contenders, it’s the most original film. I didn’t think it was great, but the presence of a strong female lead probably works in its favor as well. My choice on what should win would be Ralph, but honestly, I think it’s video game subject matter will turn away the older Oscar voters.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at eggen.lukas@gmail.com.

