Most of these films are in no particular order, but here are some of my favorite films of 2012.

“The Grey”: Whoever marketed this film should be fired. I came in expecting just another Liam Neeson action film. What I got was a surprisingly emotional and powerful film.

“Argo”: For my money, this film was leaps and bounds better than “The  Town”. Ben Affleck created a film that, even though I knew the ending coming in, was tense and exciting.

“Lincoln”: If I would have picked a film to be most over hyped coming into the year, it would have been this one. But Daniel Day-Lewis is amazing and Steven Spielberg directed a surprisingly entertaining and great film.

“Moonrise Kingdom”: The only comedy of the year that had me laughing the whole way through. Just see this one.

“Django Unchained”: Violent, funny and, in true Quentin Tarantino fashion, wildly entertaining, this one may not be his best, but it’s still fantastic.

“Seven Psychopaths”: Twisted, funny and it has Christopher Walken. Just see this one. It’s a real treat.

“Pitch Perfect”: Look, this isn’t going to win any Oscars or anything. But it was my biggest surprise of the year. Genuinely funny, great performances and just a lot of fun. Nothing wrong with that, right?

“The Hunger Games”: Why? Because for the first time a book that I’ve really liked other than Harry Potter” was made into a good movie. And that deserves to be recognized somehow.

And my favorite film of 2012 is…”Cloud Atlas”.

Yep, the love it or hate it film of the year, let me just say this. “Cloud Atlas” is unlike any other movie you’ll see. It’s powerful, emotional, funny, exciting, thrilling and it makes you stop and think. I know, a film that requires your attention and probably multiple viewings scares people, but this film is beyond amazing. This is, like “2001: A Space Odyssey” or “Blade Runner”, is a film that will be appreciated more and more as time goes on. Just do yourself a favor. Buy this movie. Watch it. You won’t regret it.

Lukas Eggen can be reached at eggen.lukas@gmail.com.

